Skip to content

How do we help the congregation participate more in our meetings?

October 2, 2010

So, I’m pretty late on the blogging thing: certainly a lot later than the good men on my blogroll.  And they’ve all written far more helpful, profound and encouraging things than I have thus far.

So – on this topic, let me hand over to Matt Blick – and may I request that all worship leaders, musicians and people with responsibility in this area read ALL the links; and then that they pass this on to any other worship leaders, musicians and people with responsibility int his area that they know. And so on and so forth.

12 ways to increase congregation participation – part 1

12 ways to increase congregation participation – part 2

12 ways to increase congregation participation – part 3

12 ways to increase congregation participation – part 4

I’m going to blog through each of Matt’s suggestions and add my own experiences and observations from nine years of involvement in leading music and worship and from a slightly shorter amount of time of being one who is hooked on biblical new testament worship, where Jesus is proclaimed as Lord by all, and where each one has something to bring – 1 Corinthians 12 through 14.

Please get interactive: comments are enabled on this blog, just don’t read ‘in-line’ with the text.  I’m not a dictator when it comes to moderating, either!  You are allowed to disagree!

Please also be kind to Matt, and let him know where his encouragements bring you ideas to try and strength for the next Sunday – much of what I’ll be sharing over the next few weeks has been on his heart (and blog) for as long as my own, if not longer.  Drop him a line at his own blog to say ‘Hi’, or ‘thanks’, or ‘you’re a lot more gentle/reasonable/encouraging than that amos5 bloke’

Finally, I repeat myself (which I am prone to do) – PLEASE share this post in particular, so that these encouragements and suggestions land in as many worship leaders’ and musicians’ hands as possible.  I also wouldn’t mind you sharing this post as it is my heart in a couple of paragraphs.

Thanks!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 10, 2010 2:05 pm

    Glad to see this important issue being addressed.

    Look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

